Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Cinema Cycle - Kenny Loggins: Outside from the Redwoods

(Cardio Workout And Reviewing Movies At The Same Time)


DATE REVIEWED: 05/03/2015

TITLE: Kenny Loggins: Outside from the Redwoods

FORMAT: LaserDisc

TIME RIDDEN / FILM LENGTH: 1 hour 22 minutes




Track List:
  • Conviction Of The Heart
  • What A Fool Believes (Duet with Michael McDonald)
  • Your Mama Don't Dance
  • Return To Pooh Corner
  • Now And Then
  • Will Of The Wind (Featuring Will Ackerman)
  • Watching The River Run/Danny's Song
  • If You Believe
  • This Is It
  • Love Will Follow (Duet with Shanice)
  • Leap of Faith
  • Footloose
  • I'm Alright
  • Forever

CONCEPT IN RELATION TO THE VIEWER: Very talented and successful artists can throw intimate concerts in bizarre places and invite all their friends.  

PROS AND CONS: A better film than I thought it would be.  

You can’t deny that this guy is talented and can write and perform his own material. Looking much like a modern day version of Jesus with a guitar, with perfect long locks and trimmed salt and pepper beard he engaged the audience like a charismatic evangelist.  

In their heyday, Pioneer and Sony did a lot of these types of concert films to be distributed on LaserDisc.  The genre never caught on, but it did leave a legacy of some very well produced and performed concerts for posterity.   

What I found most engaging about this film was that Kenny played most of his well known songs, but changed their arrangements, to slow them down and make them more swinging and soulful.  The result is great songs that sound ‘better’ than the originals.  Not an easy thing to do.

To read an overview of this project, check out the initial post for this series.

This film is a part of my LaserDisc Collection.

Clicking on the title will take you to the Internet Movie Database (IMDB) entry for this film. 

This film was viewed while exercising on my recumbent cycle.  A summary of my time spent working out on my journey through movie-land can be found on